Doing it right

Doing it right

Written by Maggie Kimberl

When it comes to hospitality, the name of the game is serving all guests to their preferences and dietary requirements to the best of your ability. There are times when it just isn’t possible to accommodate everyone, but making the effort to even understand what needs accommodation can be enough of a bridge. When it comes to Kosher spirits and cocktails, a little bit of basic knowledge can go a long way.

The first thing to identify is whether a whiskey is Kosher. There are plenty of brands with Kosher certifications – Boone County, Heaven Hill, Buffalo Trace, Koval, and Widow Jane, to name a few. But it’s more nuanced than just a certification. Kosher observance is on a spectrum and should be left up to the individual and what they are comfortable with. Generally, the rule goes that anything that grows from the ground plus a few other things like fish and eggs are pareve, or neutral. So whiskey that is made from grains, yeast and water and stored in a new charred oak cask, which is also pareve, should be permissible because of its natural ingredients and process, but yes, process matters.


👉🥃 Be sure to check out this special offer from our partners! CLICK HERE

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.